Day 5 of the IFS-based Surrender Novena

(To see the original text go here).
Jesus to a soul: Dear one, are there some opposing thoughts that you are trying to discern?  There may be excitement about following the path I lay out for you, and yet perhaps you notice fear? Can you direct attention to both of these thoughts in your mind’s eye, and ask them to turn towards you, the one who notices them?  Be with them and send them My peace, which flows into you by the Holy Spirit.  

I may lead you on a path different from the one you thought you would be on, and I will prepare you. “I am the good shepherd,” (Jn 10:1), and I will carry you in my arms.  Notice all the thoughts and feelings around what comes next—the future.  Rest in my spiritual embrace, like children who have fallen asleep in their mother’s arms, and then magically find themselves resting comfortably in their bed. 

Even so, you may have thoughts bringing all sorts of reasons not to trust Me.  I welcome all of your thoughts and feelings, and I validate the good and noble intentions of your questions and worries. As you learn to rest in Me, the wisdom, understanding, and courage of Holy Spirit will heal and bring peace to your body, mind, and spirit.

A soul’s prayer: O Jesus, I surrender my Self to you; in You, Lord, is my hope! (10 times) (cf Psalm 39:7).

Jesus, You gave us your Mother from the Cross, saying, “Behold, your Mother” (cf John 19:27). With you, Mother Mary, I always want to be completely united to Jesus.

Leave a comment