The Church is a Hospital for Sinners

“Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. Go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, and not sacrifice.’ For I came not to call the righteous, but sinners” (Mt 9:12b-13). Jesus is quoting the prophet Hosea, “For I desire mercy and not sacrifice, the knowledge (yada, Hb) of God rather than burnt offerings” (Hosea 6:6). These are not from the readings of this past Sunday, the 4th Sunday of Easter, but they are relevant.

This is the reading for this Sunday (4/30/23). John quotes Jesus in his Gospel, “I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly” (John 10:9-10). What is the main point? We need Jesus to find healing. If we are not sick, then we do not need him. It is because we are sick that He calls us! He gives us abundant life! 

So I ask a thought question: Does it make any sense to judge anyone who has come to Church? Why does anyone come to Church? Who should come to Church?

I know why I go. I go for the same reasons that the whole town was flocking to Peter’s house in Mark’s Gospel. To see Jesus. To experience intimacy (knowledge, yada, Hb) with God through His Real Presence. To be healed. To walk with Him. Amen

Leave a comment